Kitchen Tip: Freeze Green Onions

DSC_0434

Have you ever bought green onions and by the time you want to use them, they are all slimy on the outside because they have been sitting in your fridge for too long?

I have.

I often buy a bunch of them when they go on sale at our local Asian supermarket. I know, you’re not really saving THAT much when it comes down to it, but how can you resist when they are five bunches for a $1 compared to  $.79 for one bunch?! I can’t.

Green onions are so versatile and add great flavor. I use green onions frequently in Asian cooking. Just to name a few uses: as garnishes, in marinades, in stir-fry dishes.

I have found that it saves me so much time and hassle if I cut them up and freeze them when I come home from the store. This way, when I need them for a dish or a marinade, I just grab however much I need from the freezer. No more going to the fridge to find rotting green onions or having to get my cutting board out if I just need a little bit.

DSC_0436

It’s easy. Here’s how:

When you come home with your freshly-purchased green onions, pick out any wilted parts. Wash all of the green onion bunches in water. Let them dry on a long paper towel on the counter, go and do other things like mope around the house. When they are dry, chop them up to your desired size. Place in a freezer bag and freeze. That’s it! You’ll only have to wash your cutting board once for all of that green onions you bought!

DSC_0439

1 comment
  1. BKO said:

    Great tip! Just say the frozen leeks at TJ ‘s yesterday… And was thinking of scallions!

Leave a Reply

