Healthy Carrot Almond Cookies

DSC_0161

Did I say that I have a sweet tooth? If it was up to me, I’d be eating desserts all day long.

H and I are truly opposites in this regard, along with a list of many other things. He finds most desserts unappetizing, including chocolates. His idea of dessert is fruit. I know, it’s so healthy. Maybe that’s why he never really struggled with being overweight. It truly was a change to marry him. My mom used to keep our house stocked with sweets, especially since both my dad and my brother enjoy them as much as I did. Even now when I visit my parents, they would go out of their way to stock their house with my favorite desserts. All of my friends know how to woo me with chocolates. I am constantly pinning desserts that are like eye-candies on Pinterest that I know I can never keep around my house because I will just eat it all.

Unfortunately, the body can no longer handle it the way it used to work. I really think pregnancies really change your body. I can no longer eat the way I used to. The body really hangs onto those extra calories. It can be quite frustrating, especially when you feel like you’re trying your best to try to rid those extra pounds. I have since started looking for alternatives to satisfy those sweet cravings.

These cookies are irresistible and healthy, too. There are no added sugar, oil, or butter! They contain lots of good-for-you ingredients like carrots, almonds, and oats. It’s one of those sweets that I don’t feel so bad eating, or give them to my kids for breakfast. The plus side is this contains no eggs, so S can eat them! As for H, he will just continue to indulge in his stash of fruits.

DSC_0177

Healthy Carrot Almond Cookies

(adapted from Whole Foods Market)

Makes approximately 24 cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup almond meal or ground almonds

1 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 and 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 and 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 cup grated carrots

1 ripe banana, mashed

3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 cup raisins

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with nonstick baking mats or parchment paper.

2. In a bowl, combine almond meal or ground almonds, rolled oats, whole wheat flour, baking powder, and ground cinnamon.

DSC_0120

3. In another large bowl, combine grated carrots, mashed banana, and applesauce. Slow add the dry ingredients from the other bowl into the wet ingredients. Mix well. Stir in raisins.

DSC_0125

4. Drop rounded tablespoonfuls onto lined cookie sheets, at least one inch apart. Gently flattened top with spoon.

5. Bake in preheated oven for approximately 20 minutes or when cookies are slightly brown. Remove and cool on wire rack.

DSC_0162

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

