Healthy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (Dairy-Free)

DSC_0567

This week, I have been challenging my son, S, with baked goods with eggs in them. He has been allergic to eggs. Granted his reactions have not been life-threatening, it has been challenging avoiding food with eggs. The great thing is that he has been ok with baked goods this week! It has opened his eyes to all the delicious sweet treats like cookies since he’s never really had them before. The allergist did tell us that baked goods are generally not as allergenic because you only use a few eggs for a big batch and the high temperature in baking alters the molecular structure of eggs even more so than just cooking.

So this week, I whipped out my mom’s recipe for oatmeal cookies. It’s relatively healthy, not too sweet and packed with a lot of oats, making it easier for me to allow the kids to have them as treats. These cookies kept me fed during my college days. My thoughtful mom would bake a bunch of them for me and send them with me so that I could have something fast and ready for breakfast before my early morning lectures, especially since I had a hard time waking up in time for breakfasts at the dining hall. Then again, it was probably a good thing I didn’t make it to so many of those meals they served in the dining hall. They served a lot of unhealthy options back-in-the-day.

DSC_0558

The original recipe called for 1 cup of oil (!). It tasted really good with that much oil. It really did. But to make it a little healthier, I lessened the oil and substitute it with applesauce. You can use rolled oats or quick oats. Use rolled oats if you prefer more of a nutty texture.

DSC_0562

Healthy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (Dairy-Free)

Makes approximately 28-30 cookies

Ingredients:

2 eggs

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup applesauce

1 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 and 1/2 cups flour

3 cups oats (rolled or quick-cook)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Directions:

1.    Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease cookie sheets or line with silicone baking mat like this.

2.    Mix eggs, brown sugar, oil, and vanilla together in a large bowl. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt together in another bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Lastly, add oatmeal to the mixture, followed by raisins, walnuts (if using), chocolate chips (if using).

3.    Drop rounded spoonfuls (about 1.5 inch in diameter) onto the greased cookie sheets. Bake in preheated oven for 12-15 minutes or when cookies are slightly browned. Remove and cool on wire rack.

5 comments
  1. The dining hall breakfasts were the only good meal of the day! I now tell any college freshman going to Berkeley to get a small meal plan and eat out on Telegraph.

  2. bko said:

    i just tried this recipe! :) couldn’t believe that there’s not sugar in it… :) definitely healthy!

  3. I had the privilege to try the cookies from the Optimist Kitchen and they were fab! Thank you Eva!!

  4. Janice Szombathy said:

    I did a search in google for healthy oatmeal cookies and found your page. My son and I just made these and they are halfway gone already. This will be my new go to recipe for oatmeal cookies! Awesome recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

